The unknown of the Seine, a spatio-temporal investigation

 

Designed by Expérience 360, a virtual reality content creation company, the “L’inconnue de la Seine” (The unknown of the Seine) experiment offers us to immerse ourselves in an investigation into the discovery of a body of a woman fished out in Paris at the beginning of the 20th century whose strange smile frozen on her lips intrigued the investigators.

This experience depicts a true story that inspired Serge Gainsbourg to write a song “La noyée” (Drowned).

The story

A dead woman is found on the banks of the Seine. She spellbinds all the witnesses especially with the strange, enigmatic smile that froze on her lips at the moment of her death. The newspapers seek to uncover her identity, but no one comes to claim her. She is quickly nicknamed “The unknown of the Seine”.

The genesis of the project

With the growing success of escapes games, Anaïs Hakes had the idea of mixing virtual reality and a treasure hunt with the help of a specialist of the genre, Cyril Golovtchan, who founded the website www.chasses-aux-enigmes.com more than 15 years ago.

Seeing the success of escapes games, I wanted to create a transverse project that would reach the general public from a novel and “Tech” side.

The project is being implemented today by three full-time staff and a few freelancers.

  • Cyril GOLOVTCHAN – Chasses aux énigmes
  • François BOUILLE and Anaïs HAKES – Expérience 360
  • Damien J.JARRY – teaser music
  • Nicolas ALBERNY – project post production

The project

Set up on the participative financing platform Ulule, “The unknown of the Seine” offers spectators a new experience subtly combining treasure hunt and virtual reality through 360° videos that are to be viewed in specific places and according to the players’ progress.

The main idea is to democratize virtual reality (for smartphones) with one or more experiments of this type, aimed at the general public. This is an opportunity for people who have never tried virtual reality to discover 360° immersion.

Public demos on Saint Louis island

To present the idea of the project, Expérience 360 organised a demo on Friday, June 23, on the island of Saint Louis. Further demos are planned for Friday 30 June as well as 7 and 14 July. You can register on the Facebook page of the event to participate.

Support the project on Ulule.

L’inconnue de la Seine, une enquête spatio-temporelle

Conçu par Expérience 360, société de création de contenu en réalité virtuelle, l’expérience « L’inconnue de la Seine » nous propose de nous plonger au cœur d’une enquête sur la découverte d’une femme repêchée à Paris au début du 20e siècle et dont l’étrange sourire figé sur ses lèvres intrigua les enquêteurs.

Cette expérience met en scène une histoire vraie qui a notamment inspiré Serge Gainsbourg  pour sa chanson : la noyée.

L’Histoire

Une femme est repêchée sur les quais de Seine. Elle subjugue tous les témoins surtout par le sourire étrange, énigmatique, qui s’est figé sur ses lèvres au moment du trépas. Les journaux cherchent à retrouver son identité, mais personne ne vient la réclamer. On la surnomme rapidement « L’inconnue de la Seine ».

La genèse du projet

Avec le succès grandissant des escapes games, Anaïs Hakes a eu l’idée de mêler réalité virtuelle et chasse au trésor à l’aide d’un spécialiste du genre, Cyril Golovtchan qui à fondé il y a plus de 15 ans le site internet chasses aux énigmes.

Voyant le succès des escapes games j’ai eu envie de créer un projet transverse qui toucherait le grand public avec un côté inédit et « Tech »

Le projet est porté aujourd’hui par trois personnes à temps plein et quelques intervenants ponctuels.

  • Cyril GOLOVTCHAN pour Chasses aux énigmes
  • François BOUILLE et Anaïs HAKES pour Expériences360
  • Damien J.JARRY pour la musique du teaser
  • Nicolas ALBERNY pour la post production

Le projet

Proposé sur la plateforme de financement participatif Ulule, l’inconnue de la Seine propose aux spectateurs une expérience inédite mêlant subtilement chasse au trésor et réalité virtuelle à travers des vidéos 360° à lire dans des lieux bien définis et en fonction des avancements.

L’idée principale est de démocratiser la réalité virtuelle (pour smartphones) avec une ou plusieurs expériences de ce type, tournées vers le grand public. Une occasion pour les personnes n’ayant encore jamais essayé la réalité virtuelle de découvrir l’immersion à 360°.

Des démonstrations publiques sur l’île Saint Louis

Pour se faire une idée du projet, Expérience 360 a proposé le vendredi 23 juin une démonstration sur l’île Saint Louis. D’autres démonstrations sont prévues les vendredis 30 juin, 7 et 14 juillet. Pour y participer, vous pouvez vous inscrire sur la page Facebook de l’évènement.

Soutenir le projet sur Ulule

SHARE