Expeditions – education through virtual reality

Google’s Expeditions program discussed here several times before allows teachers to direct and comment on virtual tours.

Behind this simple concept hides a great tool dedicated to education with not less than 300 expeditions available to date. Previously dedicated only to the Android world, the application is now available on the Apple Store.

How does it work?

The Expeditions application works differently depending on whether you have a guide or you are an explorer.

The guide: It selects the topic and discusses different 360-degree photos using summaries displayed on the tablet or smartphone. The guide can also direct the explorers’ eyes to certain points (spots) defined in the Expedition. It’s worth noting that on the guide’s tablet it is possible to know where the explorers’ eyes look.

The explorers: Equipped with Cardboard or Homido Grab, the explorers are connected to the guide’s tablet and receive 360 photos sent by them. Arrows point to where to look, and there is nothing much to do than listen to the guide’s explanations.

How to add an Expedition?

It is not simple to add an expedition to the program, but the reasoning behind that is very clear. Google wants to make sure that the subject matter is proper and also to avoid the application content being enriched by false information.

It is still possible to submit an expedition by filling in this form and explaining your intentions. For this first series of topics, the American giant partnered up with some selected companies.

Expeditions
Prix: Gratuit

Expeditions
Prix: Gratuit

SHARE

Expéditions, l’éducation par la réalité virtuelle

Le programme Expéditions de Google présenté il y a quelque temps ici même, permet aux enseignants de diriger et commenter des visites virtuelles.

Derrière ce concept simple se cache un formidable outil dédié à l’éducation et disposant à ce jour de pas moins de 300 expéditions disponibles. Jusque-là dédiée au monde Android, l’application est désormais disponible sur l’Apple Store.

Comment ça fonctionne ?

L’application Expéditions fonctionne de manière différente que l’on soit guide ou explorateur.

Le guide : Il sélectionne le sujet puis commente les différentes photos 360 à l’aide des résumés s’affichant sur sa tablette ou son smartphone. Le guide peut aussi diriger le regard des explorateurs vers des points (spots) définis dans l’expédition. À noter que sur la tablette du guide il est possible de savoir où regardent les explorateurs.

Les explorateurs : équipés de Cardboard ou d’Homido Grab, les explorateurs sont connectés à la tablette du guide et reçoivent les photos 360 transmises par celui-ci. Des flèches indiquent où placer le regard, il ne leur reste plus qu’à écouter les explications du guide.

Comment ajouter une expédition ?

Ajouter une expédition au programme n’est pas si simple, la raison est simple, Google souhaite s’assurer que les sujets traités le soient correctement et éviter ainsi que le contenu de l’application ne soit enrichi par de fausses informations.

Il est tout de même possible de soumettre une expédition en remplissant ce formulaire et en motivant ses intentions. Pour cette première série de sujets, le géant américain s’est entouré de partenaires de choix.

Expeditions
Prix: Gratuit

Expeditions
Prix: Gratuit

SHARE