Daydream program confirmed: Mobile VR has a bright future!

The Daydream program should provide better quality content. Google launched a smartphone and joined the circle of designers/passive headset makers by offering its own headset.

About the Daydream program: it is a set of certifications to ensure the optimal experience for mobile virtual reality. These certifications include multiple elements where the principal one is the smartphone: it must be equipped with an AMOLED display that supports a low-persistence mode, and it must also come with the S821 from Qualcom. For the moment, only the Pixel is compatible.

The Daydream platform is promising but it is still at an early stage: aside from the Pixel, none of the current smartphones are compatible on the contents side, and the platform is still in development. Google has an entire ecosystem to build, but it is a very good initiative that we support!

Our models of headsets are not yet certified, but they are compatible, and we could adjust the Bluetooth protocol for our controller to Daydream.  

Our opinion on the Daydream View headset: it looks cool, however Google has made many compromises:

There are no settings; you have to use it with glasses on, which leads us to believe that the lenses are positioned far away from the eyes, thus reducing the immersive effect; there is no interpupillary adjustment… A test is due for proper judgement!

For the moment, only the owners of the Pixel smartphones (Pixel and XL) can use the headset, and with that, it does not provide access to the phone’s camera, which can be very useful for AR apps, or for certain projects (see our article on positional tracking).

Our opinion on the Daydream gamepad: very interesting. We hope that Daydream SDK will soon integrate the positional tracking. Have a look at the Pulse Project, which is currently on a proprietary SDK (the Daydream compatibility could be added in the future).

Homido remains the best universal virtual reality headset that provides comfort, offers all the necessary settings (focal length and interpupillary distance), and is compatible with all current Android and iPhone smartphones.

(For those of you who are the most experienced: Homido is even compatible with the Gear platform, see the tutorial.)


Keep checking Homido News for more information on mobile virtual reality.

Feel free to give your opinion in the comments section below.

SHARE

Le programme Daydream confirme : la VR mobile a un bel avenir !

Le programme Daydream devrait apporter un contenu de meilleur qualité. Google mise sur les smartphones et rejoint le cercle des concepteurs/fabricants de masques passifs en proposant son propre masque.

à propos du programme Daydream : c’est un ensemble de certifications visant à garantir une expérience optimale pour la réalité virtuelle mobile. Ces certifications portent sur plusieurs éléments dont le principal est le smartphone : celui-ci doit être doté d’un écran AMOLED supportant le mode low-persistence et être équipé du S821 de Qualcom. Pour l’instant, seul le Pixel est compatible.

La plateforme Daydream est prometteuse mais encore à un stade précoce : mis à part le Pixel, aucun des smartphones actuel n’est compatible, côté contenu, la plateforme est encore en voie de développement. Google a tout un écosystème à construire, mais c’est une très bonne initiative que nous soutenons !

Nos modèles de masques ne sont pour l’instant pas certifiés, mais ils sont compatibles, et pour la manette nous pourrions adapter notre protocole bluetooth à celui de Daydream.  

Notre avis sur le masque DaydreamView : le masque a l’air cool, cependant Google a fait beaucoup de compromis :

Il n’y a aucun réglage possible, on le porte avec ses lunettes, ce qui nous laisse supposer que les lentilles sont loin des yeux diminuant l’effet immersif, il n’y a pas non plus de réglage inter pupille… A tester pour pouvoir juger !

Le masque est pour l’instant réservé aux possesseurs de smartphones Pixel (et Pixel XL) et ne prévoit pas d’accès à la caméra du téléphone, qui peut être bien utile pour les utilisations AR, ou pour certains projets (Pulse Project)

Notre avis sur le gamepad Daydream : très intéressant. Nous espérons que le SDK Daydream intégrera bientôt le tracking positionnel. Voir notre article sur le positional tracking, pour l’instant sur un SDK propriétaire (la compatibilité Daydream pourrait être ajoutée à l’avenir).

Homido reste le meilleur masque de réalité virtuelle Universel, confortable, disposant de tous les réglages nescéssaires (longueur focale / distance inter-pupillaire), compatible avec tous les smartphones actuels Android et iPhone.

(Pour les plus aguerris d’entre vous, Homido est même compatible avec la plateforme Gear, voir le tutoriel.)


Restez connectés sur Homido News pour plus d’informations sur la réalité virtuelle mobile.

N’hésitez pas à donner votre avis dans les commentaires ci-dessous

SHARE